What damages can you claim after a drunk driving accident?

Injury in a DUI accident can be life-changing. You need to hire a professional personal injury attorney. Only he can introduce you to the legal process and ultimately help you win your case with the best possible compensation.

Under Florida law, you are a victim of a DUI accident if the accident caused you to lose any form of compensation required. Under Florida’s statutes for victims of drunk driving accidents, certain “perks” are provided to victims. Often, however, the victim or his lawyers demand recourse for these allowances!

It is important that you understand the many ways in which the victim can benefit. The Florida Bureau of Victim Compensation has established a set of eligibility requirements for receiving funds under its Criminal Compensation Act. Here are the requirements:

  • Crimes need to be reported to law enforcement within 72 hours.

  • The victim must have suffered some form of physical injury. Funding is automatically reduced for those who have just suffered mental or psychological injury as a result of an accident.

  • Applications need to be filed within one year of the date of the offense.Time period may be extended if a valid reason is shown

  • to 2 years.

  • Victims must cooperate fully with law enforcement, the State Attorney’s Office, and the Attorney General’s Office.

  • Victims must not engage in any form of illegal activity at the time of the accident.

  • The victim cannot be held responsible in any way for the accident.

  • The victim must not have a felony conviction record.

What benefits are available to victims?

You need to meet all of the above criteria in order to be certified as a victim. Only then, according to the Bureau, are you entitled to the following benefits:

  • lost wages

  • Loss of support, such as the death of a close relative, etc.

  • any form of disability

  • Funeral-Related Expenses

  • medical related expenses

  • Mental Health Counseling

  • Compensation for any type of property damage

However, the truth is that you and your attorney need to actively seek compensation in order to take advantage of all available benefits under Florida law. This particular regulation can help save you a lot in medical bills.

Injuries from DUI accidents can cause you to lose time at work and subsequently lose your high wages. You may have to struggle to pay bills. When your general bills add up to your medical bills, you may be losing sleep at night. Therefore, it is very important for you to claim lost wages in a DUI accident. This includes future wages You will need to calculate your future wages as well as compensation if the injury you have sustained renders you disabled or unable to work properly to provide output to the company.

You also have the right to seek damages for pain and suffering caused by such accidents. This involves physical or mental suffering caused by someone’s death. You will need to demonstrate the nature and severity of your injuries, as well as a doctor’s prognostic judgment for the purpose of claiming such damages.

Claims related to medical expenses are the most common of all claims. That’s because medical bills can add up to a lump sum at an alarming rate in most cases. The same can happen even if you have medical and auto insurance. You can claim reimbursement for ambulance, consultations, medical equipment, physiotherapy, home medical and all other expenses.

What to do after a drunk driving accident?

  • call 911

If you find yourself the victim of a car accident, call 911. Make sure to get immediate medical attention for the injury, if possible. Police soon tested another driver over the accident.

  • collect contact information

Gather important contact information. It includes the other driver’s name, contact number, address and insurance-related details. Also, gather relevant information from eyewitnesses at the scene. Gather their basic contact information, as it may come in handy later.

  • collect all possible evidence

Click on pictures of the accident scene, the vehicle or vehicles involved, and any injuries you suffered. If you have other evidence such as torn clothing, debris from the crash, etc., make sure you have those on hand as well.

  • Hiring a DUI Accident Lawyer

Only a qualified DUI attorney has absolute legal knowledge. At first, the case seems simple, but as the case progresses, things may become tense. So, to be on the safe side, find yourself a suitable attorney with expertise in this field.

Who is usually responsible for drunk driving accidents?

If it is found that the person who apparently caused the accident has a BAC above the legal limit, you can proceed to sue him. You can also file a claim against a restaurant or bar if it was responsible for serving the alcohol to the person accused of the accident.

  • The defendant needs to be under 21 years of age.

  • The accused needs to be a person who is “habitually addicted” to alcohol.

It can be difficult to place responsibility, or part of the blame, on a third party who may be actually responsible for a drunk driving accident.

About the author


Leave a Comment