Tennis Club Platinum Jubilee Club Championships Sale

Tennis Club 2021 Open Women’s Champion Jess Board and Open Men’s Champion Anthony Zafiris. Photo: Courtesy

SALE The Tennis Club will host its 70th consecutive club championship on Sunday (November 27).

With the Wellington Gippsland Tennis Association season in full swing now, this is an opportunity for both junior and senior members to showcase their skills on 14 fully refurbished red courts.

After scheduling difficulties due to facility renovations and then COVID-19 over the past few years, the Platinum Anniversary Year will be a special event for players and tournament organizers.

The hottest events of the 70th championship will be 4 events of the Hall of Fame; Women’s Open Singles, Men’s Open Singles and Under 18 Girls’ and Boys’ Singles. Other events include girls’ and boys’ singles and doubles under 10, 12, 14 and 16, popular family doubles, women’s and men’s doubles and mixed events.

In the open tournaments, the 2021 champions are Jess Bord and Anthony Zafiris.

Jess will return in 2022 to defend his title, aiming to back up and make it fourth in a row.

However, she won’t have it all her own way. Mia Gould, who finished second in women’s singles last year, is progressing with each season, while Joe Rule’s recent international experience shows she will be very competitive and Reggie Virgo will also be hard to beat.

In the men’s open singles, neither Anthony Zafaris nor 2021 runner-up Sam McGregor will compete, leaving the field for someone new on the leaderboard.

Can Mark Elliman, grandson of the first ever and four-time world champion among men Stan Elliman, set a unique family record?

Perhaps the naturally gifted Aaron Kennedy or the hard-working Tim Dunnett will win. Or can Kal Bord destroy all their hopes? The upcoming match will be one of the most anticipated matches of the tournament.

In the under-18s, Sam McGregor is the 2021 champion, but he’s not defending the title, creating an opportunity for the next promising group.

Riley Nicholas, Sam Bertino, Josiah Levchenko, Aaron Donaldson and Louis Lazzaro will be among the pursuers vying for a place on the leaderboard.

In the Girls Under 18 category, Jess Bord is looking to hit a quadruple double by winning a fourth successive 18, Under and Open titles.

The other age competitions are very open as players go through their age groups of 10 and under.

The annual club championships provide club players, especially juniors, with another opportunity to test themselves against their peers. It’s part of the juniors’ journey, and while club championships are slowly disappearing from many clubs’ annual calendars, Sale Tennis Club is determined to continue its long tradition.

The club even applied for an Australian Open trophy display on the day of the Diamond Jubilee.

Two perpetual trophies awarded to each Australian Open men’s and women’s singles winner is the Norman Brooks (Men’s) Challenge Cup, named after Sir Norman Brooks (1877–1968), Australian tennis champion and three-time world tennis champion . singles slam winner. It was first awarded to Fred Perry at the Australian Championships in 1934, and the Daphne Akhurst (Women’s) Memorial Cup, named after Daphne Akhurst (1903–1933), a five-time singles champion, was first awarded to Joan Hartigan at the Australian Championships in 1934 . 1934. Unfortunately, despite the fact that the trophies were supposed to go on a tour of Victoria, they were not available that day.

For more information or to obtain an entry form for the 70th Club Championship, participants should contact Robin Lowe at [email protected] or on 0418 514 788.

Reigning Open Women’s Champion Jess Borde hits a left hand.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *